Pelican Girls

Designer: Headline

640.07TL
Quantity
- +
Paris, 1720. The Hospice of La Salpêtrière is overrun with 'difficult' women.

Halfway around the world, on the American frontier, French settlers are in want of wives. At the asylum, a list is drawn up: eighty-eight women of childbearing age to be shipped to New Orleans. Among them are Charlotte, Geneviève and Pétronille - a sharp-tongued orphan, an accused abortionist and a rumoured madwoman.

They make the voyage over the ocean, knowing nothing of the harsh and extraordinary lives that await them, or how they will come to love and betray each other time and again in this wild and beautiful land.

Bold, thrilling and startling intimate, PELICAN GIRLS is a powerful vision of female friendship, identity and desire, and the choices women make in their unshakeable will to surviveFor readers of Barbara Kingsolver, Lauren Groff and The Book of Goose by Yiyun Li.
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 368 pages
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 15.2 x 3 x 23.2 cm